A Welcomed Hazing in Patagonia

My climbing life is blessed. That was a constant thought after my first climb in Patagonia turned out to be an ascent of Fitz Roy (via Mate Porro y Todo Lo Demas on the North Pillar aka. Goretta Pillar) with my dear friend Kate Rutherford. After years of talking about going there I was finally there, basking in the sun in town too shattered from our 4-days out to do anything but lie around, ice my body and try to appreciate instead of letting my mind think about the continuing good weather and summoning the energy to try something else.

Kate wrote up a little notice right after Fitz Roy and included a few with photos on her blog: http://katerutherford.com/?p=841 The trip was Kate’s sixth season in Patagonia and I felt very grateful to the seasoned tour guide for showing me the ropes.

Splitterville on the North Pillar

Splitterville on the North Pillar

Our coldest bivvy begins Day 2. And even if everyone says it was a warm season, the cold kept me awake for much of the night.  Sleeping pills recommended.

Our coldest bivvy begins Day 2. And even if everyone says it was a warm season, the cold kept me awake for much of the night. Sleeping pills recommended.

Classic.  Way to nail the summit shot Kate! Photo by Kate Rutherford

Classic. Way to nail the summit shot Kate! Photo by Kate Rutherford

Leave a comment